Sea Heroes to Be Honoured (30/03/16)

Posted: 30 March 2016 Posted In: Achievements

National Maritime Charity Calls for Skill and Gallantry Award Nominations

The Shipwrecked Mariners’ Society is calling on members of the maritime community, and rescue organisations, to nominate colleagues and associates who have demonstrated outstanding skill and gallantry in rescuing those in peril at sea.

The Society, which has provided financial support to merchant seafarers, fishermen and their dependants since 1839, will hold its 165th Skill and Gallantry Awards Ceremony in October. The Awards seek to recognise those who have shown exceptional courage in the face of adversity.


Last year saw crews and individuals from dramatic sea rescues honoured, including the crew of ‘Rescue 01’ from 1564 Flt, 905 EAW Mount Pleasant, Falkland Islands; Sergeant Dan Allanson QGM, also part of ‘Rescue 01’, Mr Chris Macdonald of Solent Towage, and Jake Bowman-Davies, Skipper of FV Cesca.

Malcolm Williams, Chief Executive of the Shipwrecked Mariners’ Society said: “The Society’s annual Skill and Gallantry Awards are the highlight of our events calendar. Every year we see men and women who have shown outstanding skill and bravery recognised and I am sure this year will be no different. The Awards raise awareness of the professionalism and selflessness seafarers and rescue crews demonstrate in keeping others, whether they be seafarers or members of the public, safe from the sea. Ultimately, I hope these Awards go some way towards acknowledging their tremendous efforts.”

Within the past year the Society has provided support in over 2,000 cases of need, received 500 new applications for assistance and distributed financial grants worth over £1.4 million.

Nominations for this year’s Awards are now open. You can submit them by contacting:

Malcolm Williams
Chief Executive
Shipwrecked Mariners’ Society
1 North Pallant
Chichester PO19 1TL
Tel: 01243 89329

For more information about the awards, visit [insert link to Skill and Gallantry Awards 2016 page].
The closing date for receipt of nominations is 12 noon on Friday 6th May 2016.

Posted In: Achievements