Font Size:
  • A  A  A  A  

Society Presidents

1839- Admiral The Rt. Hon. Sir George Cockburn GCB is appointed as the Society’s first President (his wartime history included involvement in the occupation of Washington and the burning of the Capitol and White House in 1814 during our war with the United States) Sir Robert Peel Bart is a founding Vice-President.

1854 – The Rt. Hon. Sir James Graham, First Lord of the Admiralty, becomes President

1858 – His Grace The Duke of Marlborough

1883 – Admiral His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh

1901 – The Rt. Hon. The Earl of Cadogan

1916 – The Rt. Hon. Lord Leith of Fyvie becomes President

1926 – His Grace the Duke of Montrose

1931 – Admiral of the Fleet Sir Roger Keyes

1932 – Admiral of the Fleet Lord Keyes

1946 – The Rt. Hon. Earl of Stanhope

1957 – The Rt. Hon. The Earl of Granville

1966 – The Rt. Hon. The Earl of Lindsay

1977 – Major General His Grace The Duke of Norfolk

1984 – Admiral of the Fleet The Lord Lewin becomes President (a category of the Skill and Gallantry Awards – the Lord Lewin Award – is named after him)

1996 – Her Royal Highness (HRH) The Princess Royal becomes President

2001 – Admiral of The Fleet Sir Julian Oswald GCB becomes President. HRH The Princess Royal becomes Patron

2006 – Admiral Sir Peter Abbott GBE KCB becomes the Society’s 16th President

2016 – Admiral Sir George Zambellas GCB, DSC, DL, FRAeS becomes the Society’s 17th President

Cards & Gifts

Buying Shipwrecked Mariners’ Society greeting cards can be a great way of supporting us. We have a full range of charity cards and gifts!

Shop Now

Support Us

If it wasn’t for our supporters, we could not provide seafarers and their families with the essential help they need.

Donate Now